top of page

Week 7. Group Work

Earlier today I led a group work session with Anne and her interns Jess and Abby at the storage space. I had sent them a template for inventorying boxes and we went over how to enter the information. This is the older of the two spaces and so we had to be very careful about opening the boxes and trying to keep things clean. Anne noticed that her hands were getting quite dirty as she worked her way through the files. This is a challenge that I need to do some more research on. Perhaps a vacuum? However, there is no electricity so it would have to be battery operated. Feather duster? I'm sure there are solutions.

I found it very helpful to have Anne by my side to answer questions about content, especially acronyms and illegible folder titles. I also had her go through a few boxes of ephemera and artifacts so that she could identify them. Both interns were having some technical difficulties which identified how important good equipment is for being able to be efficient.

By the end of the session, I was able to reorganized the space so that we could see what has been processed to date and what remains.

bottom of page