top of page

Week 3. Capstone Project Development

Due to the fact that last year MLIS students are required to register for their Capstone projects by November 4 and have their Capstone sponsors identified by December 13, I moved up developing Anne's Capstone sponsorship posting to iCareer.

I reached out to Alycia McKenzie at iCareers who sent links to previous Capstone projects, which I reviewed for similar projects. I downloaded the Sponsor Capstone Proposal Guide and sent instructions to Anne to set up an account in iCareers. I spent some time on Anne's site reading about what projects her previous interns had started/accomplished. This helped me identify a number of possible projects. I also reached out to the UW archivist, John Bolcer to find out if it would be possible for if it would be possible to set up a Capstone project where a student could access these collections to expand the finding aid to the folder level and to make copies or perhaps digitize some of the materials that Ms. Focke would like to access more frequently. Mr. Bolcer was out of town so I am waiting for a reply and will update the project post with any new information.

After brainstorming some ideas, I sent a Draft of the Proposal Guide to Anne for her editing and approval. She made a few notes, commenting on what her priorities are (completing container inventories). I then filled out the online Capstone form on iCareers and submitted the project. After seeing the project on iCareers, I made a few adjustments including having emails from interested students come to my email so that I can field them for Anne. I have posted a screen-grab of the project with a link to the PDF on the Capstone Projects page.

bottom of page